The greatness of losing.

I just started a match with this one player that said “I’m here to get killed and learn something!”.  I had to sit back and smile. Unfortunately not very many people have that great of an indomitable spirt and are comfortable to pragmatically pluck techniques and tactics from other players who have simply been playing the game a bit longer.

It’s pretty much the perfect healthy go-getter attitude to have.  If you have children this is how you want them to grow up to be.  Confident when lacking experience or skills and facing unknowns, especially in a competitive environment.

I’m also playing another player who is currently in Japan and kicking my ass.  We are in the 7th battle and I’m just hoping to reduce his overwhelming SF unit advantage.  Luckily I have experience with the big siege battle, but will it help against his elite forces?  I believe the new weaker splash damage from the ballistic artillery will make this battle a little more even.

Musket Smoke is an endless smorgasbord of tactical learning and positional tactics.  It was designed to encourage creative tactical thinking.  There is simply no quicker way to learn the game than by losing.  Most of my best moves were learned from others who could initially rip through me like a tornado.  I lost those battles and loved every minute of it.  It was like plucking deadly knowledge from a wisdom tree!

Musket Smoke was deliberately designed to be eternal and endless in learning.  You learn faster from losing than winning so technically you really have nothing to lose at all.  In the old days you had to ‘pay’ for the opportunity to play others from around the world.  Now you can press one button and boom, your fighting someone from China, US, Hungary, Japan, UK, Australia or the Nederlands.  It’s amazing really.  Chances are they are new just like you and just as apprehensive.  For me nothing is better than fighting a few international conflicts at home on the couch with the help of a donut and a coffee.

 

I will try and make a daily blog posting from this point on.  Like most indie devs I can lose myself in the code and the play testing and sometimes forget about the who we are doing all this for.  Sharing is important and helps build the MS community.

Woodie

Leave a Reply

